Day Eighteen! Runaway pooch and stealing after dark.

Portugal: Day Eighteen (decimo-oitavo dia)

Monday morning. John and I leisurely got up and made our way to ALKE where we met Barbie&Ken. I am very excited to use the new jump ropes we bought in Ponta Delgada on Saturday. John and I warmed up with them outside, and after a minute of shooting gravel into my legs, I moved onto the wooden platform in front of Toronto Nights’ back door. This platform happens to be fenced in. Later on in our workout, it become known as the “Burpee Box”. After we all warmed up, we did four rounds:

  • Burpee SPLAT x15
  • Box jumps/squat jumps x15… read: oversized curb jumps
  • Curl-squat-press x15
  • Pull-ups xMAX

I took out the curl & the press, but amped up my weight for the C-S-P, and I only did pull-ups (MAX=7) for rounds two & four. For rounds one & three I did 15 decline push-ups. #idowhatiwant

In between rounds 2 & 3 I did 2:00 of jumping rope inside the Burpee Box. There is no room to do burpees inside, and they hurt on the gravel. The platform makes for a nice spot, but the fence makes you feel like a caged rat. I finished with three one minute planks (each side), supersetted with 1:00 of jumping rope. Barbie&Ken showered and we all met at Pic-Nic.

We sat lazily outside for almost an hour. A couple from Belgium who we have talked to a few times are there (he is a soccer fan). Tessa, the female half of this environmentalist couple who are in Povoacao temporarily saving an endangered bird species, came up to me and asked about my class at ALKE. She promised to see me there at 6:30pm. Monday is the day we go shopping on Mira Mar’s tab, so we pay up at Pic-Nic and leave to get Romeo so John can walk him while I’ll shop with the boys.

John and I open the door to our apartment and are surprised to find that Romeo is not sleeping in his normal spot at the bottom of the stairs. John goes up and into the bedroom, calling for Romeo. He’s not under the bed, he’s not on the back porch, he’s not in the tub, he’s not upstairs. Romeo. Is. Gone.

We have been waiting for this moment since we got here, but especially since Saturday night when we heard him jumping at the door when we were outside waiting for Lina and Ernes. He used to open our office door all the time, and if he was lucky enough, some clueless stranger or pack of oblivious teenagers would hold the lobby door open to ease his escape. He jumps up onto the handle and once it falls vertically, he walks backwards. He figured out that our apartment door works the same way.

I took off with Romeo’s leash toward the guys’ apartment to enlist their help and John took off toward the beach. We haven’t taken him many places, and he is too much of a scaredy-cat to stray. Bobby, Ken, and I head toward the square. Someone has already called Fatima, Marcelo’s mom who works below the guys’ apartment, to let her know they saw Romeo by Jardim, a restaurant near Romeo’s friend Lele’s storefront. I decide to pass by our apartment in case John found him. I had our keys and the leash, so if John had found him he would be holding him by the scruff waiting for me. There was no sign of them so I dropped my keys on our stoop in hopes that John would see them. I turned to walk toward Jardim and there was Romeo! Running straight up our street into my arms. Douchebag. I hooked him in his leash and we headed off to find John. We found him in the square a few minutes later.

With that excitement over, we headed back up to the guys’ apartment to food shop. When we finally did make it home, Romeo had the nerve to try to open the door while we were home! John put a chair downstairs until we did something more permanent.

IMG_8445Douche. Bag.

I sent a Facebook message to my new Portuguese friends who are moms asking for a baby gate. I figured we could put it on the stairs. Even if Romeo could jump it, he wouldn’t jump it to land downstairs. Carla told me we had a deadbolt. HA. We can use our key from the inside to lock it—I had been wondering why there was a keyhole on the inside of the door…

We ate and I showered and went to sit in the square to work on my blog in the sun. Staying true to Azorean weather, about an hour after I’d been sitting, the sun was quickly replaced with scary clouds and it began to rain. I headed home and got ready for my class at ALKE.

IMG_0311My workspace.

IMG_031213 women, 5 stations: jump rope, plate swings, lateral box blasts, dips, drop squats. :40 on / :20 off. Four rounds.

IMG_0320Supersetted with 1:00 planks. #beasting

Since it’s the first day of my second week there, I can get a little bit more creative with the women. Instead of all doing the same exercise at the same time, I was able to separate them into five stations and cycle them through. We have more and more fun each time I am there. Everyone speaks (or at least understands) English, but many women have been helping here and there: “vez is time!” and “serie is round!”.

John had practice so I had some time to kill after class and before he came home for dinner. I took Romeo for a walk down to the gas station. John and I have been planning a secret mission that we can only carry out at night, and thus far we’ve been too lazy or non-committed after practice and after dinner to finish it. Since I had the time and it was dark, I decided to carry out the mission solo.

I have been bitching and bitching about the leash we bought Romeo before we left; it is really long and the handle-length is adjustable. I just couldn’t see the point. Until. Until I got tired of pulling him while running, so I adjusted the length of the handle until it fit around my waist and we run connected. See picture below.

 IMG_1709The poop-bag doubles as a decorative bow.

I put Romeo around my waist and walked toward the center of our mission: a large abandoned tire near the gas station. It is perfect for tire flips and will be a great addition to our ALKE workouts. We are slowly acquiring the equipment to which we’ve grown accustomed: resistance bands, jump ropes, TRX… a tire is a must-have. I flipped it up and began rolling it toward ALKE. A few cars slowed down to give me funny looks, but for the most part people left me alone. Just when I was getting to the nasty hill-of-a-driveway up to ALKE, our friend who works at Pic-Nic and puts bacon on our burgers was descending the hill post-workout. He took the tire from me and beasted it up the hill. Mission completed.

I went home and made pasta and sauce for me andJohn and to eat. Each time I’ve made it here, I’ve made it differently. This time I browned the beef, added an onion and a clove of garlic, added salt (and a little sugar), and tossed in the polpe de tomate. Success.

One thought on “Day Eighteen! Runaway pooch and stealing after dark.

  1. […] our friend from Pic-Nic who puts bacon on our burgers and helped me with the final stage of mission-steal-the-tire-from-the-gas-station-with-romeo-attached-to-my-waist? Well, he has a name: Dyogo. And he work outs at ALKE. He weighed about 150lbs more at 18 then he […]

Leave a Reply

