Day Forty Three.. The FH comes to Povoacao

Day Forty Three (quadragesimo teceiro dia)

Semana sete

Friday marks the first day of our seventh week living in Portugal. Tonight, to further our celebration and assimilation into Portuguese life, the Portuguese national team is vying for a spot in the World Cup in the first of two games against Sweden. If you are curious but unaware (like I was), Ukraine and France are competing for the other spot. John doesn’t have practice for either team (probably because of this incredibly important match), so we’ve decided to make tonight our Pic-Nic-Burgers-for-Dinner night. Not DIY, but the real deal.

We also decided on an afternoon gym trip and I don’t really run on Fridays so I actually showered and dressed like a normal adult human being before we left the house—except for walking Romeo in my pajamas, because that doesn’t really count as “leaving the house”. Ken came over with his voter packet from Switzerland (did you know as a Swiss citizen over 18 you are actually required by law to vote in elections?) because he had to mail it. When we were getting ready to leave I got a message from Lina that we had a care package. John and Ken walked to Pic-Nic and I grabbed a pair of scissors and booked it to ALKE. #dontrunwithscissors

IMG_0581

I grabbed the package off of Ernes’ fridge so fast I barely squeezed out a “BOM DIA, ‘BRIGADA” before I hustled over to Pic-Nic to rip into our package. Who was it from, you ask? Not so much a “who” as a “what” really, and the what was The FIELDHOUSE. Our home.

IMG_0583

A bunch of different people contributed to this package-of-American-love, but Kate was the coordinating culprit. If I hadn’t known that already, I would’ve been able to tell from the uber-creative wrap-job. I immediately went at the packing tape with my mini-scissors and starting digging in. The first thing I pulled out was a package of Peanut Butter Energy Balls from Real Deal Snacks…my mouth is actually watering as I write about them now. Underneath those was a second package. Thanks ye, Jesus a.k.a. Leslie! You are incredible, and so are those little balls. Under that was a THIRD package from RDS of Grain-free Granola Bites. There were snack packs of Pringles and Halloween Pretzels, Luna bars… A bag of unreal unjunked peanut butter cups! And then a plastic bag full of something wrapped in blue tissue paper: It was at least a dozen PR Bars, Lara Bars, and KIND Bars. Two magazines, a hand-drawn picture of an airplane (that is now on our refrigerator!) and a pound of Dunkin Donuts coffee. There were three handwritten cards. I was tearing up in Pic-Nic, I was so happy. We gave one Peanut Butter ball each to Carla, Ricardo, and Ken; the rest I am rationing.

IMG_0585

We went home with all our goodies and I went back out again to get some food for the weekend and necessities like dog food. John hasn’t been feeling well so he and Romeo laid down to take a pre-gym nap. Carla came over for a little while and showed me how to use our new cable box; we now have on-demand-like channels that include Wii Zumba, wrestling, and even an NBA channel. I efforted for a long time to find a Yoga channel to no avail. I have decided to re-implement Yoga Days into my life. I used to have Yoga Wednesdays when Holly was teaching in her basement which coincided nicely with go-to-work-late-Wednesdays. After I worked from 6:30-8:30am I would go to a 75-more-like-90-minute Yoga session before dawdling at Starbucks and arriving at FH close to noon. Even thought I had already worked for two hours, it still felt like I was going to work late. Self-care is key to a long and happy life, so I am going to YouTube Yoga on Sunday. Check.

John and I headed over to ALKE where we met Ken and agreed to do no legs—they have a game tomorrow, I have my long run, and we’re all sore. We did 4 rounds of 10 reps:

  • Pull ups (I did 5ish, 7ish, 5 and a ½ish and 7ish. I’m calling it “25”)
  • Hanging leg raises
  • Incline bench
  • SB roll outs

We stopped at home so John and Ken could put some peanut butter in their protein shakes and then they went off to Pic-Nic for the Portugal vs. Sweden game and I headed back to ALKE for my class. My plan was to teach, run home and shower, and then meet them for most of the second half and a Pic-Nic burger. I told Marco I was going to have his meal: two Pic-Nic burgers, french fries, a cerjeva, and ice cream. Minus the cheese and the ice cream, of course.

In fact I only had one burger, fries, and my water. HA. Portugal won 1-0 and Ukraine won 2-0. Both sets of teams play again on Tuesday night to decide, and because the decision is based on aggregate goals (I am so learning) Sweden and France still have a decent chance.

It was still early when we got home so we watched a movie. John let me pick in hopes that I would actually watch the whole movie instead of falling asleep/reading my book. I chose Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close with Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock about 9/11 and I thought it was great. John liked it, but felt basically the way my dad did: it was too long.

When it was finally over, we fell asleep dreaming of our conquests for the next day: John and Mira Mar beating Nordeste and me beating the lomba that beat me (up).

IMG_0589

One thought on “Day Forty Three.. The FH comes to Povoacao

  1. […] we had our first real greeting. Kate Rosenbaum (remember that ridiculous care package??) came stampeding into the lounge and jumped on John while screaming. It was my turn next, and she […]

Leave a Reply

