Week 9 Part Deux

Day Sixty (sexagesimo dia)

Monday (Segunda-feira)

Still raining. Romeo and I went out anyway (#rainorshine) for a brisk 5 miles. Fortunately, it’s not all that cold, just wet and windy. I dropped Romeo after the first half. When I got home from the second half, I changed and John and I headed off to the gym to meet Ken where we did three super-sets:

  • Goblet squat to DB bench
  • Single arm bent row to hanging leg raises
  • SB Pike to pull-ups

I finished with three sets of 10 burpee push-ups. #30burpees30days Day 14: 30 burpee push ups.

It was pouring and there were no seats inside Pic-Nic, so we huddled outside under the awning for our galoes and fofas. We had to go grocery shopping, which is unpleasant in the weather, but we managed. I wanted to finish my postcards, but bailed. They cancelled the junior’s practice because of the weather and I had cooked chicken soup the day before, so we were even lazier than usual.

IMG_0132

After class at ALKE I came home and we ate my epic-fail-chicken-soup. Why was it so bad? I know you are dying to know. First of all, I put too much rice in again. It is chicken casserole, and not in a good way. Note to self (and readers) next time: NO RICE. Also, piri piri is a fairly hot spice used frequently in Portuguese food and I usually use it in my tomato sauce now that I’ve experimented successfully. However, there are two varieties: a powdered spice and a hot sauce. The powdered spice lends itself easily to over-doing it and has a different (read: not yummy) flavor. The sauce is yummy and easier to dictate amounts. I’ll let you guess which one I used. Damnit. John is a decent and loving human being so he told me it was good, but that he just wasn’t very hungry. HA. I finished reading Orange is the New Black. I loved it.

While I was in bed finishing Orange is the New Black I got a very exciting message from my running-buddy-homegirl Jackie. Even though I have no idea where I’ll be on April 27th, I entered the Nike Women’s Marathon random draw for their DC half marathon. And our group was selected!! We got giddy and then commiserated on #runnersproblems

 IMG_0759

JAX

Day Sixty One (sextagesimo primeiro dia)

Tuesday (Terceira-feira)

Still raining. Romeo and I headed out for four miles in the sideways rain and 50mph winds. We did 2.5 together and then I did 15 sprint intervals alone. I got home freezing and completely drenched so I decided to shower and DIY yoga instead of trudge back out in the rain to the gym. John went off to meet Ken and the rain began to ease up. I went out to finish my postcard mission, but the stamps were more expensive than I had planned on and I only had enough dinheiro to send half of them. I met the boys at Pic-Nic, where we had to sit outside again. The weather was mildly better.

John had practice and I didn’t want another dinner disappointment so I stuck to making pasta and sauce. It was delicious. I had nine women in class and I worked out with them.

IMG_0131

I was planning on doing 30 burpees with tuck jumps when I got home but I FORGOT. After I made my sauce and showered I sat down and watched the first episode of Orange is the New Black which was disappointing. In the book, Piper is smart, adaptive, positive, and kind of a badass. At least in the first episode, they make her out to be a sensitive wussy. It was annoying.

I found this great new website to waste lots of time on. Maybe you’ve heard of it, I guess it’s popular for those living in the 21st century and enjoy the internet. It’s called “Pinterest”. Oh, you’ve heard of it? That’s weird. I’m addicted. I found a “pin” titled the 50 best bodyweight exercises and on the list was TUCK JUMPS. I realized I’d never done my burpees and got out of bed to do them. #30burpees30days Day 15: 30 burpee tuck jumps. Since I was warmed-up and out of bed, I took Romeo for a walk. It wasn’t raining.

John came home and we ate and went to bed. The wind gusted so hard that our french doors which-double-as bedroom windows rattled loudly. Sometime around 3am one of the window shutters detached from it’s little latch outside and began slamming against the door/windows. John and I leaped out of bed to secure it again. We ended up shutting them (which took at least 5 minutes, because we didn’t know what the heck we were doing, it was 3am, and we’re hanging out a second floor window in 50mph winds) which made the wind somewhat more quiet, but then the shutters were rattling. Maybe around 5am one of the shutters opened and began slamming again. John took part of our TRX suspension training system and secured to shutters. #genius We didn’t sleep much.

 IMG_0818

 

Day Sixty Two (sextagesimo segundo dia)

Wednesday (Quarto-feira)

When I got up, miraculously, it wasn’t raining. I took Romeo for 2.5 miles and then did another five solo. Even though it wasn’t raining, I wore my Red Sox hat anyways. John told me I was silly and that it would blow right off my head. Which it did. Almost immediately, so I dropped it off with Romeo. While I was running alone, I saw my #1 cheerleader. She is short, round and not terribly old (maybe late 50s). She saw me running for the first time about a week ago, when I made her street part of my regular route. She started yelling things at me in Portuguese, few words of which I understood: “car” (carro) and “here” (aqui). When she noticed my confusion, she switched to her small English vocabulary: “I love you! I love you!” She now jumps for joy when she see me running. It makes me want to jump for joy, too. “Obrigada!” I yell back, while blowing kisses. “Linda! Querida!” She yells at me until I am out of sight. Because I lap the vila I see her at least twice, if not three times, but her excitement never wains. #godblessher

Because of our interrupted sleep, John was still in bed when I got back. He got up and went to the gym, and I met him at Pic-Nic after finally completing my postcard mission. We were spared rain most of the day. Around 3:00pm it came back with a vengeance. I didn’t even want to walk the two blocks to ALKE and I told John they would be crazy to hold practice. They had ended early the night before because of the wind. I went to ALKE around 5:30pm to workout and while I was doing forward walking lunges, I had an epiphany. I can only do three before I have to turn around because there is not much space. I did three sets of 30, so there was a lot of turning around. I was thinking about The FIELDHOUSE and how much space we had and how much I miss it and will be happy to be back there when it hit me: one day I will miss this tiny gym on this teeny island, with the nonstop rain so much it will bring me to my knees. We are coming back to The FIELDHOUSE, but ALKE is our “now”. John and I have been trying to live in the “now” and enjoy the time we have here without worrying about things we won’t have when we get home like cars, jobs, and a place to live. I love it here, and I will miss it terribly when we are gone

I did three supersets:

  • Fwd lunges to front squat – OH press
  • SB leg curls SA burpees
  • 1:00 plank to decline sit-ups

#30burpees30 days Day 16: 30 single arm burpees (15E).

Once I finished, I crossed the parking lot to Toronto Nights. The weather had gotten even worse: pouring rain and intense winds. It was about 6:29pm when I heard a loud crash downstairs. The wind had blown a rug around and all but filled the room with water. Lina said she didn’t think anyone was coming and that sounded safe to me. No one came. I asked her to make two pizzas for John, Ken, and I. Lina gave me a piece of baked squash and I sat in the kitchen with Luisa while she made them. It is nice to be surrounded by estrogen. It wasn’t raining when I left around 7:30pm. John and Ken didn’t have practice but were at Pic-Nic watching Champions League games. They came back and I told them that Ernesto had invited them to play futsal. They flipped a coin to decide whether or not to go. The coin flipped in honor of futsal. They both had a slice before heading to the gymnasium to play with Ernesto, Emanuel, Kevin, Majid, Adam, and a bunch of guys I don’t know. The good thing about not having practice on Wednesdays is they can play futsal. I went down (after I ate all my cheese-free pizza…. it is so good) for a little while to take videos of them. I came home and Skyped with Cathy and Krista.

John scores from half-court


We decided not to go to Madrid and just stay in Barcelona for the whole week we are in Spain. We booked a different hotel for the last 4 nights and bought FC Barcelona tickets. Today we had officially been in Portugal for two months.

 

 

Day Sixty Three (sexagesimo terceiro dia)

Thursday (Quinta-feira)

Again, it was crazy windy all night, but not raining. In the morning, Romeo and I went out for three miles and then I did one by myself. Even though Romeo had gone #2 when I walked him pre-run, he still elected to take a fat dump in front of a ton of middle schoolers hanging in front of the town hall who screamed in disgust when I picked that dump up with a baggy. Thanks, buddy.

It was barely sprinkling when I got back, but raining pretty heavily when we left for the gym. We did 4 rounds, 10 reps of each:

  • Incline DB bench
  • Upright rows
  • Box blasts
  • Rotational cable pull-downs
  • Decline sit-ups
  • and I did burpee SPLATS

#30burpees30days Day 17: 40 burpee SPLATs.

We headed for Pic-Nic and for the first time in days, we were able to sit inside. It was still raining. We headed home where we were supremely lazy. John asked me if I wanted to go home for Christmas, so we peaked at tickets. Sorry guys, for three grand we will not be coming home anytime soon. We will go to Barcelona and my parents will visit in February. They booked their tickets today. #duddyfamreunitesintheazores

John had no practice which means we got to eat at a decent hour. I made veggies-a-la-Ken and chicken. I roasted onion, red pepper, green pepper, and eggplant, with olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, salt, pepper, and lemon juice. I cooked up some bone-in chicken breast, cubed it up and added it together. John bought a bottle of wine while I was at class (9 women). #datenight

IMG_0823

I got to use my workout from the night before. I also learned a new word this week: “chuva” it means rain.

IMG_0130

Leave a Reply

