#64 #65 #66… John drinks, Liza drinks.

Day Sixty Four (sexagesimo quarto dia)

Friday (Sexta-feira)

Semana dez

While I was out doing three (dry!) miles with Romeo Lina sent me an extremely exciting message. Apparently, the watch that Jackie sent to me wasn’t stolen in the mail but it’s been sitting in customs! The Portuguese postal service will only deliver it if I give them 38 for tax! They opened the package and decided it was new. Which it’s not, but I don’t care. I actually ordered a new one from Nike.com on Wednesday because they had some on clearance for an extra 25% off. Wednesday was the end of the sale and 5 weeks from when Jackie sent it, so I went for it. Now I will have two. Or John can have one. John and I headed the gym with Ken.

 IMG_0825

Marco, a high schooler who plays on the senior Mira Mar team, was there on his two-and-a-half lunch break from school and we convinced him to work out with us. He struggled, but he did it.

Friday’s 300 Workout, 1 round 30 reps of each:

  • Decline push-ups
  • Curl to press
  • Dips
  • Hanging rotational leg raises
  • Split squats (15E)
  • Suitcases
  • SB roll outs
  • Plate swings
  • Burpees
  • Box jumps

Because I was on day 18 of #30burpees30days I did my burpees and box jumps together. Day 18: 30 burpee box jumps.

After Pic Nic, I couldn’t wait to go home and charge up my watch. It is coming with me on long-run-Saturday.

I headed to Casa Cheia and got some Christmas decorations and soy milk. When they have leite de soja, it’s even cheaper than it is in the city. I bought two Santa hats and 18 ornaments. I put all of the decorations on the wine bottles I’ve been collecting to fill our otherwise empty China cabinet. John and I decided to buy lights to add to our Christmas cabinet. I still don’t think we’re going to get a tree.

Lina had given me an entire meat pie the night before, but we hadn’t eaten it because I had already made my oven roasted stir-fry. John and I invited Ken over for dinner after practice, but they were having dinner with Mira Mar. Which is lovely because it means I get to eat dinner before 10:45pm.

I headed off to class where even though the weather was better I only had THREE WOMEN. I am hoping after the new year that the numbers increase again. The ladies are awesome:

 IMG_0836

I headed home and heated up the pie while I made a salad. I went to Pic-Nic and walked Romeo. I got home around 10:30pm and waited for John to get home. Typically, when they have a team dinner he is still home before 11:00pm. This was not a typical night, and in fact for me, this night lasts until 6:00am.

John stumbled home right around 2:00am and wasn’t feeling very well. You already know that I was up until 6:00am, so you can use your imagination for those 4 hours in between. It wasn’t fun, but it was funny and I had to wash everything in our apartment. Twice.

 

Day Sixty Five (sexagesimo quinta dia)

Saturday (Sabado)

Around 5am I contemplated staying up until the sun came up and doing my long run then, but I decided to sleep for a few hours. God bless Sweet Baby Romeo who let us sleep until almost noon.

In honor of getting a number for the Nike Women’s Half and on account of finally receiving my watch, I ran the first annual All By Myself Lomba Half Marathon. I finished in 2:18:30. Romeo came with me for the first three and it didn’t rain. Hallelujah.

John was pretty much out of commission for the day, but I told him he had to rally. Toronto Nights was having a party that I’d been looking forward to. He was more than willing to accompany me, he just wasn’t going to drink. Ken also claimed to be “not drinking” but he failed. We went to Pic-Nic in the afternoon where Ken and John recovered from their night of Absinthe drinking with Pic Nic burgers and Kima.

IMG_0835

Before we left for Toronto Nights, I did my burpees. I thought it would be hysterical to wait until I was wasted and do them at Toronto, but I chickened out. #30burpees30days Day 19: 30 burpee SPLATs.

As soon as we got there, Lina poured shots of tequila for me and her. There had been a private dinner party for someone’s birthday and we were given extra cake by one of the party-goers. Some of the girls who work out in my class were there and we drank and danced until 3:00am when Lina served bread and butter (genius). We walked home.

 6_nMe, Xana, Lina

nOh, John.

Day Sixty Six (sexagesimo sexta dia)

Sunday (Domingo)

This time it was me who was out of commission. Aside from a bathroom break for Romeo around 9:30am (John took him, thank you) we slept until 1:00pm. Lina messaged us offering the leftovers from the dinner party. We headed over to Toronto with Romeo to pick it up and invited Ken over to share.

Someone at Toronto last night asked me if I liked it here in Povoacao. I said simply, “Well, we know Lina and Ernesto, so we love it here.”

Lina and Luisa gave us a tray of Cream of Cod, a tray of chicken and rice, a dish of castanhas stuffing, a loaf of bread and a pizza. Hot.

After we ate we went to Pic-Nic for the Arsenal v. Tottenham game. They drew, not that I watched it. I was reading The Book Thief. I began to fade; I was feeling all that tequila from the night before. We went home and I wished we had eggs (the ultimate hangover food) but settled for tuna. I immediately felt better.

I knew I wasn’t feeling well because I actually sat down and watched two movies with John. We watched Invictus in honor of the passing of Nelson Mandela and after I Skyped with my parents we watched Elf in honor of Christmas. I almost went to bed without doing my burpees, but John reminded me. #30burpees30days Day 20: 30 burpee splats.

Leave a Reply

