New Year, New Blog Format

Same delectable content, new format.

I am not one for resolutions (because why? If it was something you wanted to do, you could Just.Do.It like NIKE. But you haven’t. So you arbitrarily begin to do so on January first only to…not), but while we were at Toronto Nights on NYE John and I both made resolutions.

IMG_1473

I resolved? Resoluted? To be more patient. John resolved to be more creative. He was listening to John Legend’s “All for You” which was playing while they served food at 4:30am and he made reference to Valentine’s Day. This could be good, stay tuned.

One thing I have managed to become over the years is more practical. After I traded in the skirt I had planned on wearing for running tights (yes, running tights) I packed my Chinese-store boots in my oversize purse. These heels lasted me two hours. We were there for 6.

CollageNYE

We ate 12 raisins at midnight (making a wish for each one, they represent the 12 months), drank champagne and lots of other alcohol, we lost power, Emanuel hooked up the generator, we continued to dance, Lina and Luisa served a feast at 4:30am, and finally we went home.

IMG_1490

In addition to being more patient, I am going to change-up my blog. The day-after-the-day-after New Year’s Eve I went through my past posts. Originally, I went through them because I wanted to know, roughly, how many miles I had run when I didn’t have a GPS watch. The answer to that question was about 140.6, but I learned more than that. I learned quite a few things (which is weird, because I wrote it, right?), but these are the most pertinent to this blog and the ways I’m going to (hopefully, because it was a resolution I have like a 90% failure rate compared to deciding to do this any other day) change it.

(1) My blog is full of typos. I know this. I go back and fix my posts long after I’ve published them and fix some, so it’s better. But there are still so many. Mostly I have a really hard time staying in the same tense. I am going to be more patient in my proof-reading.

(2) It’s, and I know you know this, incredibly tedious. Some of you like the detailed minutiae of my day, I know. But some may become bored in my ramblings. or lost. I ramble.

So, I’m going to do a better job of proof-reading and I’m not going to do daily posts. I may post daily (but probably not), but if I do, they won’t be laundry lists of my daily activities. But don’t worry, I’m working hard to ensure my readers are satisfied with my antics and sarcasm.

Here is my last daily blog post:

Day Ninety (nonagesimo dia)

Wednesday (Quarto-feira)

New Year’s Day

We stayed in bed. All day.

I made PB&J pancakes.

IMG_1500Lina brought over hangover soup.

We ate in bed.

I changed sheets, we got back in bed.

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Blog Format

  1. Not only do I love your daily posts (and kind of marvel at your ability to keep up with them!) but I think you’re going to appreciate them SO MUCH when you revisit this trip to friends or for yourself. You have the most awesome travel journal possible. That being said, have fun mixing it up and making it more interesting for yourself! You have a strong following, which means you’re doing something right 🙂 Happy New Year!

    • Ashlie!! Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. I am continuing to keep my daily log for myself, for that very reason! I keep telling john this adventure will someday be a tiny blip on our lifelong map “remember that time we LIVED in Portugal?”. I want to remember every little bit.
      I love your blog! And I have embraced your word-of-2014 in my fitness classes and life.
      Happy New Year!
      PS it’s much easier to keep up with no job and no kids 😉 you rock!

  2. […] came home from class and worked on my blog (New Year, New Blog Format) and walked Romeo until John came home. He got home a little early, and he hadn’t showered […]

Leave a Reply

