108, 109, 110, 111… Chinese food, double runs, and outdoor obstacle courses

I have been completely unmotivated to write this week, but here is my best effort. Before my final edit, this is basically what I had down:

Screen Shot 2014-01-24 at 8.13.47 PM

Day One Hundred Eight (un cem oitavo dia)

Monday (Segunda-feira)

20 Janeiro 2014 (Lina’s birthday!)

I got up and ran four miles alone. When I got back we got ready and headed for the gym. John has been doing a lot of reading about strength training and he convinced me to try assisted chin-ups. This is a big deal. If you know me, you know I hate help. When I did the Tough Mudder last year with John’s sister and her fiance I did all but one obstacle by myself. It is supposed to a “team effort”. Guess I’m not really a “team player”. At the FH we had large resistance bands that we could put on the squat racks for pull ups, but in this instance I put my toes on John’s thigh. It went very well. I did:

  • Single Arm squat–OH press to assisted chin ups
  • Single leg RDLs and lateral lunges
  • Hanging leg raises, decline sit up, SB roll outs

We headed to Pic Nic for galaoes then to Fatima’s for groceries. In my best effort to eat well (including eating breakfast) I made a ridiculous egg lunch with sauteed onions, zucchini, and ham. Which in the first draft I had written as “crack lunch deliciousness”:

IMG_1615

I made more homemade hummus, but this time I didn’t take the time to skin the chickpeas and aside from taking way longer to blend in my ghetto food processor was totally delicious and I’m never going through all that trouble again. John and Ken said they were going to cook dinner for me for a change. I had a phone interview for a job in Arlington (I’m not able to disclose my homecoming date, but I can tell you it is sometime between when my parents leave and April 27th–a.k.a the Nike Women’s DC Half). The boys ended up having to go coach the juniors’ practice. John had facebook messaged the president, Betinho, and asked him if they had practice but he hadn’t responded.

This is how small a town this is: at 4:00pm John and I were walking home from the Fruit Market, which is next to Mira Mar’s office. One of the senior players ran out and said “Hey John! I’m supposed to tell you the juniors are practicing today”. They practice at 6:00pm. Soon after they left for practice I left to teach class.

IMG_1663

After we finished Lina served us all fruit from her orchard (oranges, banana, and guava) while we sang Happy Birthday.

IMG_1616 IMG_1617

I Skyped with my sister-cousin Meg until the boys called me for dinner. They made a saffron chicken with mushrooms and onions and a side of baked zucchini. They also made rice but starch is not on my intake-guide right now. I didn’t even do the dishes.

 

Day One Hundred Nine (un cem nono dia)

Tuesday (Terca-feira)

21 Janeiro 2014

I went out to run 5 miles and I saw Carla cleaning her salon windows. All of a sudden Carla looks very pregnant! (But not your nose, don’t worry!) She is 19 weeks. We decided to take Lina out for a birthday lunch in the city on Wednesday. When I got back from running, John and I took off to meet Ken at the gym:

  • Single arm bent row to rotational cable pulls
  • FWD lunges to deadlifts
  • leg lifts, suitcases, side bends; 3 rounds @ 35 reps each

When Ernesto saw me doing my forward lunges outside with 20kg he said I looked like Ronnie Coleman. I didn’t know who Ronnie Coleman was but John said that wasn’t a nice thing to call a woman. When we got home later, John Googled him for me. This is Ronnie Coleman:

ronnie_coleman2Thanks?

After we went to Pic Nic we headed home for what I wrote originally as “epic meal time: salad with tuna and homemade hummus (crackpot)”.

IMG_1629

I also made sauce for dinner @ 5:30pm. I headed off to class and John to practice.

IMG_1662

When I got home I made a sweet potato for dessert and soup for amanha. I Skyped with Meg again, walked Romeo, and went to bed.

 

Day One Hundred Ten (um cem decimo dia)

Wednesday (Quarta-feira)

22 Janeiro 2014

Since we were headed into the city, I got up early and ran. Because I was only going out for 3 miles I ate when I got back. Carla and Lina picked me up at 11:00am and we decided to have Chinese food for lunch (which is not like American Chinese food, but it is incredibly delicious). We got egg rolls, chicken chow mein, Chinese chicken salad, and honey BBQ chicken wings. We went to the American store afterwards and Lina and Carla bought fruit loops. We headed to the mall where I stocked up on leite de soja and chocolates. All three of us kept looking at sweets and Lina suggested we go get our pastries before we bought every sweet thing in the supermarket. We went to Pao do Rei and I got a Natas (which is like a mini custard pie.. SO GOOD) and my galao. Another thing I stopped doing a few months ago was adding sugar to my coffee and tea–it’s an easy way to control your sugar intake.

John mentioned the other day that I write a lot about food in my blog. Well, I do. I also write a lot about training and nutrition is a huge piece of that. You can skim over any workout/diet stuff you’d like–this is a blog about my daily existence. Which happens to revolve around food.

When we got out of the car at Pao do Rei Carla realized she had forgotten to exchange a pair of pants for her mom at the mall. So when we were done with our pastries we went back to Parque Atlantico. That took way longer than expected as the lady at the store took 30 minutes to change out one size for another. We went to the Cash-n-Carry so Lina could get supplies for a baptism reception at Toronto Nights on Saturday. We all agreed that next time we come to the city we are just going to eat and walk along the port de citade. We started talking about the cachorros (hot dogs) and almost went to eat them. Nah, nah, nah… Back to Povoacao we went.

When we got back it was only 5:00pm. I usually run 6 miles on Wednesdays so I decided to go out for 3 more which turned into 4. I never run at that time, so I got to enjoy the sun going down over the water–it was beautiful. I also got to scare the shit of of Majid and his girlfriend who were canoodling in the rocks by the small beach. When I got back I got ready and headed over to ALKE to teach class. Because of the reception this weekend Lina and crew had set up the tables in the banquet hall so we warmed up outside Lina’s mom’s house next door. While we did the workout inside, Leila suggested we do the whole workout outside the next day, because it was so nice.

IMG_1661

I got home and warmed up some soup for dinner (John went from coaching the juniors straight to futsol at the gymnasium). When I took Romeo out for his nightly stroll I saw a man walking by the bus station, which wasn’t that strange. But then he started glancing around and then stopped abruptly with his back to us. Weirder. Then I saw a stream of liquid spilling onto the ground diagonally in front of him. PEEING! The man was PEEING! I coughed, he turned, and I made the most disgusted face I could muster. Gross.

As we were walking by the gymnasium, Kevin was walking in. Romeo freaked out and started howling and pulling but Kevin just nodded and kept walking. Romeo was so excited to see him that when Mira Mar’s new goalie walked by a moment later, Romeo dolphin-jumped all over him. Desculpa. Luckily he knows who we are. I Skyped with Anna and went to bed.

 

Day One Hundred Eleven (um cem decima primeira dia)

Thursday (Quinta-feira)

23 Janeiro 2014

I got up around 9:00am, ate half a PB&J, took Romeo for walk, drank my tea, took romeo and ran 4. We went to gym.

Ken wanted to do a  1RM (one rep max) which John wanted to practice going through. While they were doing their thing, I worked out solo:

  • dips to bicep curls (5 supinated, 5 neutral, 5 pronated)
  • squat jumps to RDLs
  • Core: hanging rotational knee tucks, burpees, and stability ball knee tucks, trez series at 15 reps

In case you were wondering what it’s like to workout with John, here is a sneak peak:

Because John and Ken were no where near done I went home and showered and then met them at Pic Nic. I had more soup for lunch and  prepped food for dinner; we were having chicken drumsticks (shake & bake) with peppers, zucchini, onions, corn, and cauliflower “rice”. Since it was another warm day, we were able to hold the whole class outside.

IMG_1660

IMG_1651 IMG_1653 IMG_1654

In addition to Valentine’s day, they also celebrate girlfriend’s day and guy friend’s day here in Portugal. Toronto is hosting dinner, dancing, and KARAOKE for girlfriend’s day. I am ridiculously excited as Karaoke is one of my favorite pastimes. I love to sing but am so horrible it can only be condoned when my peers are hammered. Karaoke is a nice blend of the two. After class I Skyped with Cathy, and then Meg (yes, again). This time when Romeo and I went for our walk we found our new stray friend who has a little limp. I would like to adopt him. And I keep calling it a him but I’m pretty sure he has nipples. This is a picture from earlier in the day when we saw her.

IMG_1649

Leave a Reply

