Big Al’s Banana Bread– full of gluten, dairy, and sugar!

This is my mom’s classic banana bread. I can’t remember now where the recipe originally slipped into our family (Betty Crocker?) but it has been a staple comfort food in my house. While I also have a fabulous gluten-free option, here is the original!

*Preheat oven to 350F

You will need:

  • 3 overly-ripe bananas (the more brown spots, the better), sliced
  • 1/2 stick of butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups white flour
  • Optional: 1/2 cup walnuts, chocolate chips, blueberries…

Wet Ingredients:

In a food processor (or by hand, just slightly more time consuming) place sliced bananas, sugar, softened butter, milk, and lemon juice. Blend until smooth.

Dry Ingredients:

Put flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a medium-sized mixing bowl and toss lightly to spread baking soda & powder throughout flour. Slowly add the wet ingredients until mostly smooth. Some clumps are good as they will help keep the bread fluffy and less dense.

If you are going to add walnuts or chocolate chips (or blueberries… the possibilities are endless), now is the time. Fold them in slowly.

Spray a bread pan with non-stick cooking spray and pour in batter. Smooth out the top with a spoon until the mixture is spread evenly throughout the pan. Bake at 350F for 50-60 minutes, checking with a toothpick. Top of bread will brown and split.

5 thoughts on “Big Al’s Banana Bread– full of gluten, dairy, and sugar!

  1. […] mom (who I don’t credit for being good in the kitchen) has made this banana bread recipe for as long as I can remember, and I have copied her for years. I haven’t always been known […]

  2. Ohh yeah!
    Thanks!
    I’ve been looking for an easy, full of goodness (fats and sugar) recipe for a banana bread and here it is!
    I’ll get to it today!

  3. […] made Big Al’s banana bread for John the other day, so I set out to making an alternative for myself. I wasn’t thinking […]

Leave a Reply

