Chia Almond PB Balls

IMG_0162

This is a recipe I’ve made differently each time I’ve made them. I will explain some of the other alternative ingredients, but here’s my favorite so far.

Prep time: <10 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

*Preheat oven to 350F

You will need:

  • 1 fairly ripe banana (no brown spots is OK)
  • 50gr oats (gluten-free if available)
  • 3 tbs peanut butter (I have not experimented with natural or homemade PB.. use at your own risk! Hell, comment if it works out for you)
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins
  • 4 tbs chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds

Start by slicing and then mashing the banana in a mixing bowl by itself. Add in oats, PB, and chia seeds and mix well. Fold in almonds and raisins.

Grease a glass baking pan and place teaspoon sized balls of dough onto pan (if you have a small ice cream scoop, I’m sure this would be easier–I use two teaspoons). After I have measured out all the dough, I pour a little oil on my hands and roll them into balls.

IMG_1845

Yields between 12-14 balls. Place in oven at 350F for 15 minutes to set. Take out and allow to cool.

I have also made them with more oats, less chia seeds, no raisins, and with chocolate chips. Take out anything you don’t like and try out something you like.

IMG_1847

I wrap them individually in tin foil so I can take them with me easily. However you choose to contain them, make sure you keep them in the fridge until you’re ready to take them or pack them for a snack.

IMG_0163

4 thoughts on “Chia Almond PB Balls

  1. […] also made more PB balls. This time I used slivered almonds and chia seeds, and skipped the chocolate […]

  2. […] be returning to today). We both meandered in the kitchen drinking tea and coffee (and I had a few PB balls) and then I headed out to run 6 miles. I was supposed to do my second Fartlek, but I didn’t […]

  3. […] but that took me days longer. I made my first attempt at homemade Larabars and made some more Chia Almond PB balls. I didn’t follow the chia protein bar recipe to a T: I used 1 cup of almond (I didn’t […]

  4. […] got home I made black bean hummus (I really, really, came close to following that recipe!) and my Chia Almond PB Balls with Nutella instead of PB and no raisins (the Nutella is plenty sweet). John reminded me the other […]

Leave a Reply

