Fartlek?

This is my first official “running” post, so I might as well make it memorable!

Although I have been “training” since I arrived on Sao Miguel Island just over four months ago (quatro meses), I just officially started my training plan for the second annual Nike Women’s DC Half Marathon. Last year I set a new PR of 1:56 and this year I’m hoping to crush it.

Monday marked Day One with a 3.0 mile warm-up. I have been averaging between 35-40 miles a week for at least the last two months, and my first week of NWM training consists of only 25. So far, so good.

My second day of training was a 5.0 mile Fartlek, which means “speed play” in Swedish, but fartlek is obviously a much better word. It keeps the fun in running, which I am all about.

After a one-mile warm-up (on which I took our 3.5-year-old Siberian Husky, Romeo), which was more likely 1.25 miles because I paused my watch to let Romeo do his business and I guess I forgot to un-pause it. I looked down a few blocks later, cursed, and un-paused it.

After I dropped Romeo off, I set my Tabata for 3:00 of work and 2:00 of “rest”, for 6 rounds (30:00 total), and finished what was left of my 5th mile with a “cool-down”.

IMG_1781

A fartlek, unlike my Sprint Intervals, uses two speeds: fast and slow (recovery). The 3:00 interval was supposed to be run at a “faster pace” (I’d say 80-85% effort; full-out sprinting being 100%) and the 2:00 “rest” interval was to be run at a “slower, steady pace” (I’d say 60% effort).

I felt awesome! I turned it up a few notches in my “fast” intervals and felt faster during my “recovery” periods than I do at a steady pace for 5.0 miles. I was not sure how it was going to go, but I will say I am now looking forward to the Fartleks ahead.

3 thoughts on “Fartlek?

  1. […] I don’t like to sleep all day) as well as the sound of rain. And wind. Oh yeah, that 5.0 mile Fartlek I’m supposed to go out and do? Definitely going down later. I was hoping to get it done […]

  2. […] finished my dilly-dallying and then took off for my 6 mile Fartlek. This one was a little harder than last week’s because instead of running hard for 3 minutes […]

  3. […] had sort of been missing my Fartleks because they keep my training runs interesting. I hadn’t had one for a few weeks, so I was […]

Leave a Reply

