Honey Banana Cornbread–gluten-free, dairy-free, refined sugar-free

A gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free spin on one of my favorite recipes.

My mom (who I don’t credit for being good in the kitchen) has made this banana bread recipe for as long as I can remember, and I have copied her for years. I haven’t always been known to cook a lot either, but people remember my classic banana bread.

I have been missing it since I went (mostly) gluten-free, and since I always have bananas on hand, I decided to give it a go. I picked up some corn flour the other day, poked around on Pinterest for inspiration, and here is the final product:

*Preheat oven to 350F

You will need:

  • 3 overly-ripe bananas (the more brown spots, the better), sliced
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbs butter alternative (I used Planta vegetable spread, but you could use coconut oil, applesauce, smart balance, earth balance, etc)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used soy, because you do what you can here on Gilligan’s island–but almond or coconut would work, too)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups corn flour (I guess Bob’s Red Mill is commonplace in the States, corn flour is easy to come by in the Azores)

Wet Ingredients:

In a food processor (or by hand, just slightly more time consuming) place sliced bananas, honey, egg, butter/butter alternative, and non-dairy milk. Blend until smooth.

Dry Ingredients:

Put flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a medium-sized mixing bowl and toss lightly to spread baking soda & powder throughout flour. Slowly add the wet ingredients until mostly smooth. Some clumps are good as they will help keep the bread fluffy and less dense.

Spray an 8×8 glass baking dish with non-stick cooking spray and pour in batter. Smooth out the top with a spoon until the mixture is spread evenly throughout the pan. Bake at 350F for 45-50 minutes, checking with a toothpick. Color of batter will become slightly more golden.

photo 1 photo 4

2 thoughts on “Honey Banana Cornbread–gluten-free, dairy-free, refined sugar-free

  1. […] our family (Betty Crocker?) but it has been a staple comfort food in my house. While I also have a fabulous gluten-free option, here is the […]

  2. […] was lounging. I bought corn flour on Monday at Fatima’s and I’d been dreaming of making gluten-free banana bread ever since, so I set off to bake in my dry […]

Leave a Reply

