Almond Corn Pancakes (GF, refined SF, DF)

I love pancakes. I basically run for my love of pancakes. I use my love of pancakes to get through long training runs (alone, up gigantic hills also known as lombas). Each week after my 10-, 12-, or 14-mile run I indulge in a re-fuel pancake session. However, since cutting gluten and refined sugar, I’ve had a hard time finding a pancake that doesn’t taste like a soggy oatmeal cookie (not that I don’t love those, too).

This week after my 10 mile solo lomba run, I made pancakes with almond flour and corn flour instead of my usual oats. I topped them with honey, slivered almond, and bananas. They were so good. They were so good that I will continue to run just so I can eat them again. And again. And again.

IMG_1862

 

Yields: 1 serving (I got 6 silver dollar cakes out of my batch)

Prep & Cook time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

Pancakes:

  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 corn flour (not corn starch)
  • 2 egg whites (or one egg)
  • 3 tbs soy milk (or almond… or coconut)
  • 1 tsp gluten-free baking powder

Toppings:

  • 1 tbs honey
  • 2 tbs slivered almonds
  • 1 sliced banana
  • or whatever you like!

Beat the eggs with non-dairy milk until fluffy. Add in flours and baking powder until just mixed (some lumps are good–they make for fluffier cakes!). Spray a skillet with non-stick cooking spray, melt a little butter or coconut oil (whatever your style is) and turn heat to medium-high. Pour batter into skillet, about 1/2 ladle-full for each cake. Cook 4-5 minutes before flipping (cakes will be slightly golden) and cook another 3 minutes on the second side. Transfer pancakes to serving plate and top to your choosing.

2 thoughts on “Almond Corn Pancakes (GF, refined SF, DF)

  1. […] week and I had some corn flour. The result was sooooo delicious. It has made it’s way onto my Recipes […]

  2. […] then maybe for coconut flour I could just use ground up unsweetened shredded coconut. I made my Corn Almond Pancakes (GF) with coconut “flour” instead of corn flour and topped them with homemade PB and bananas. They […]

Leave a Reply

