Home?

Saturday

4/5/2015

I decided to save my 14-miler for the next day. John and I were completely wide awake by 6:00am, as was Romeo. We took our time getting ready and then headed over to the FH. Jay wasn’t surprised to see us, he knew we would be there, but he was still excited. We saw Frankie, too, who wasn’t surprised and is hardly ever excited.

Then we had our first real greeting. Kate Rosenbaum (remember that ridiculous care package??) came stampeding into the lounge and jumped on John while screaming. It was my turn next, and she kept going back and forth until she was able to calm down. Well, calm enough to take a picture. Best.Greeting.Ever.

Screen Shot 2014-04-15 at 10.56.08 PM

Two other guys, Brett and Marc, showed up along with a woman who started at FH after we left. I almost vomited, but pulled through. Sled pushes, bungee broad jumps, and resisted runs. Burpees, ball slams, upright rows, plate swings, DB bench, and push ups. This is for fun?

We hung out for a little while after and waited for one more surprise. A family that John and I are really close with were in for a surprise. My friend Carrie hadn’t told her daughter, Grace, that we were home. She told Grace she had a physical therapy appointment at FH, but when she showed up, this happened:

Screen Shot 2014-04-15 at 11.01.07 PM

After we enjoyed our homecoming, we went out for a big fat American breakfast with Frankie. Our waitress told John she liked his accent (what?) and I ordered every kind of meat you can, with eggs and hash browns. My phone died, otherwise I would have taken a picture. John got a fat stack of pancakes and I had a bad cup of black diner coffee. Home sweet home.

Frankie dropped us off and we got ready to go check out some cars. We weren’t planning on buying one that day, but after going to two dealerships we found one we liked. A manager made us an offer a few hundred dollars below what John and I had set as our bottom line for that car, so we took it. We put down a deposit on a 2010 Mazda CX-7 and set off for the airport to see about our bags that had shipped cargo.

IMG_2455

When I asked the SATA representative who made my reservation via email a few weeks back, she said I could pick up our bags “a few hours later or the next day”. We weren’t interested in hanging around the airport Friday night (especially with Romeo) so we decided to try for the next day. John had called them while we were in the car and the lady on the phone told him to just go to the cargo area at the airport. Our bags were there, she said.

Turns out there are two cargo areas: north cargo and south cargo. After following the signs for north cargo (gotta start somewhere) until there were no more signs and we couldn’t find a building, we turned around and followed the signs for south cargo. We saw jetblue cargo, united cargo, and finally TAP Portugal cargo (not technically SATA but they are partners). We couldn’t find the door for TAP, so we asked someone in the parking lot wearing a reflective vest and he directed us towards the swissport office, because, well, obviously.

I went inside the dingy hallway inside the warehouse into a side office and was greeted by an incredibly overweight and less-than-helpful man. He recruited help from an equally overweight female, who told me my bags hadn’t cleared customs yet and to just “wait a few days” for them to clear. Sounded good to me. I hopped back in the car and John and I set off to drive home.

It should only be a 40 minute ride home, but they are doing construction in the Pru tunnel. I totally forgot! Two hours later, I was practically eating my arm, we stopped at Stop n’ Shop in Framingham so I could buy enough food to have sauce for dinner (the kind in the jar, which doesn’t take like my homemade..shocking). We ran home and I cooked as fast as I could. We ate and immediately went to sleep.

Sunday

4/6/2014

I got up and got dressed to run. I had to borrow a fleece headband from my mom because I didn’t have anything to wear running in the 37F weather. I headed out and my toes froze immediately.

I ran 3.5 miles to the Sudbury Starbucks where I met Kate. She and I threw down 8 together and I peeled off to run home at 11.5. She went to meet Jay, who is also running that 200-mile relay in May, and she’s been trying to get him geared up for it.

I ended up finishing 15 miles instead of 14, and at a good pace, thanks to Kate. I crawled inside to shower and get ready; we had to be in Manchester-by-the-sea by 12:30pm. John was coaching a clinic. John had gone to the FH to get some equipment for the clinic while I was running. He got to see Keith, Elizabeth, Matt, Amy, and all their kids. I was really jealous.

We stopped at Sudbury Pizza on the way, and while Dimitri was excited to see us, it was not as good as the greeting we knew we’d get from Stella. He gave John his pizza on the house as a welcome home gift.

We ended up getting to Manchester ridiculously early. I helped John unload my mom’s Subaru (ballin’!), talked to a few other coaches, and then I left him on his own. I headed to see my best friend Anna and her girlfriend Wendy in East Boston. We went out to have Australian food by the water and they took me to the Promised Land: TJ Maxx.

I bought a hair dryer, clippers for John (I know, I know..another pair?), gluten-free cookies and a donut pan. We got back in the car and headed back to their apartment. I grabbed my mom’s keys and drove back up to Manchester.

I got there early and John only had 6 girls. The clinic was split into two sessions and John later told me he had over 50 kids in the first group and it had been a disaster. He had a great time with the second, and older, group, made some good money, and is planning on running a few more clinics for this club.

IMG_2447 IMG_2450

We packed up his gear and headed for Wakefield. We were going to have dinner with our friends Keith, Nicole, and their now almost-nine-month-old son, Alex. When we left, he was not even three months.

After playing with Alex for a while and catching up with his parents, we decided to go out for Chinese food. Nicole called her sister who came over to babysit. The four of us hopped into Keith’s truck and drove to the restaurant. We love Keith and Nicole. We love Chinese food. It is weird to be home, but we’re enjoying it so far.

IMG_2469

John and I played rock-paper-scissors to see who was driving home. I lost but John drove home anyway because I couldn’t even keep my eyes open.

When we were 10 minutes from being home I realized I hadn’t heard from Frankie about the U-haul he was supposed to get for us from his friend. I texted him and he hadn’t gotten it—he had forgotten. I couldn’t even imagine leaving the house again to go get it, but sure enough, 45 minutes later he was depositing it into our driveway. Thank you, Frankie. I couldn’t even get out of bed to say it to his face. #jetlag

Monday

4/7/2014

I got up at 4:36am. My alarm was set for either 4:45am or 5:00am, but I woke up early. After I had a snack and some green tea, I hopped in my U-haul to head to Starbies. I met some of the RunHens (Amy, Kate, Jenn) for their usual 5:45am, 5-mile run. Because one of the girls is recently pregnant they ran slower than usual. We finished with a 9:00 pace. #thisisslow ?

Two days in a row of not running alone and I was feeling extremely fortunate. This time I doubled up my socks so my toes wouldn’t freeze. We stopped into Starbucks for coffees post-run and then I headed home. John wanted to work out at 8:00am, but after my 15-miler, and the other 5, I was struggling. I showered and we both went to FH. I foam rolled and chatted with our friends. We saw a few more familiar faces and got some of the warmest greeting. I’ll tell you; nothing makes you feel more loved and appreciated than leaving for a while and then coming back.

After John worked out and we saw a few more friends (Sarah, Ofelia, Tricia, Rhonda, Linda, Dave!) we went home so John could get ready. We had to go finalize paying for the car so we could pick it up, and then we were heading to New Hampshire to get our stuff from John’s mom’s house. We were Facebook messaging with Carla, so John and I sent her silly pictures. You know, so she remembers what she’s missing.

IMG_2466

IMG_2465

We stopped at DCU and then drove to the dealership. The sales woman was giving me the run-around about when I could pick the car up, because they were fixing some scratches on the bumper. From there, it only took us an hour to get up to Deerfield (even driving 60MPH).

We were worried we would miss John’s niece and nephews because they don’t usually get home from school until 2:45pm, but his sister Kati had picked them up from school early so we could see them. When we arrived just after 12:30pm they were there. And I was starving. We ate leftover Chinese food that John’s mom and her husband had ordered for dinner. #americanfoodcravings

John’s niece, Sierra, disappeared when we went to load up the U-haul. John’s youngest nephew, Justin, took a header off the U-haul ramp and was down for the count. We were down two workers and we hadn’t even started. John’s Grandma lended a hand, so that was helpful.

We only grabbed boxes marked CLOTHES or KITCHEN, and then also our dressers (one—mine—was covered in mildew and we were only taking it to throw it away) and a rug. My dad thought we should’ve just taken his truck, but in fact, the U-haul wasn’t that excessive after all. Except for the dresser, and my rug that smelled like horse barn (not really unexpected), all our stuff was in excellent condition. Just a little dusty.

We drove home to unload, taking one pit stop to see my cousin and her dog. After unloading the U-haul, John and Frankie returned it and went to see Captain American in iMax. I ate leftover Chinese food (again? I no longer remember missing this), unpacked some bins, moved some furniture with my dad, hung our rug up to air out, and went to bed.

Tuesday

4/8/2014

Romeo woke me up at 5:45am to go out. I got up again for real at 6:30am. For the third day in a row I had a running buddy: Ofelia. I had breakfast, and texted with Ofelia about the rain. She told me she was out if it was raining, and I told her I would be at her house at 8:30am either way. I ran the 4.25 miles to Ofelia’s house, all but one of which were dry. The last mile to Ofelia’s house the sky opened and it poured. By the time I got to Ofelia’s I didn’t even care if she was coming, I was ready to run straight home. She came outside with her raincoat on and we ran 3.25 together, and the rain mostly stopped. I dropped her back off and finished my last 1.5 to the Fieldhouse. Nine miles.

When I arrived at the FH around 9:15am, I was soaking wet and shivering. John was there to workout and he gave me his sweatshirt. I was also warmed by the hugs of people I hadn’t seen yet; Erica, Katie, Heidi, Kim. Zaela and I were reunited but it took her a while to decide if she was happy about that.

August:

Z913295_n

April:Z

I hung out with Kate while she ran childcare in the brand new childcare room that she and Jay made while we were gone. When I ran childcare, we hung out on the basketball court floors. And tried not to let kids commit accidental suicide on the bleachers. #newandimproved

John and I finally left around 10:30 and I was frozen. After I showered I began sorting through our six months of junk mail. John and I headed out to finalize our auto insurance, get lunch, and grab some groceries. When we walked into Sudbury Pizza, Stella acted like we hadn’t seen her in a year. Another incredibly warm welcome, accompanied by the most delicious grilled chicken salad. And more pizza for John. After we caught up with Stella, and told her about our plans to visit Greece (“Oh my god! My country!”) we stopped to get a few groceries before going home to grab my dad.

Since we didn’t have our car yet, we were still relying on the generosity of my parents (which, fortunately for us, is basically unending). We went home, changed, dropped my dad at work, and then headed for the FH. I got to see our GM, Denise, for the first time. I also got to see Mel and Kathleen from All Access. I missed Mel a lot, but we didn’t get to catch up since she was with a patient.

I worked out but John watched a soccer game. I got to see my Ashira, who I didn’t get to see on Saturday. She knew I was home but I still got a pretty good reaction from her. After we sat and talked for a while, and facetimed her sister Alisha, I got to working out. I am staying away from legs at all costs until the Nike Women’s Marathon in a few weeks so I stuck to core.

Carrie, Grace, and Carlos stopped by so it took me at least twice as long to work out because I kept stopping to talk. I got to see Jody and Alex, two other high school athletes who worked with me before I left. Coach Brewster, and Jen and her son Drew. Jen put this picture on my wall not long after we left in October. Sometimes, if I didn’t have very many kids, I would move them from the basketball courts to my office during childcare. #informal

IMG_0006 IMG_0085

We left so I could get ready to have dinner with my friend, Jessie. Krista was supposed to come, too, but she had gotten the stomach bug. John dropped me at Acapulco’s before going to pick my dad up.

Thankfully, Jessie gave up alcohol for a month. I was planning have a big fat margarita, but I wasn’t going to drink alone. We got all caught up on the last six months of each others’ lives and I asked her to drive me home before my forehead hit the table.

When I got home John was already at his soccer game in Fenway. The first thing my dad said when I walked in the door was “Romeo ran away.” Ok. “He’s still gone,” Oh.

My dad and I got into his truck to search the neighborhood. He and John had already done so, and he had already looked in the woods behind our house with Nyla (my parent’s German Shepherd). We did that, too, after our drive around the ‘hood wasn’t a success.

I decided to call it quits after that. What more could we do? He had his collar on and my mom had called animal control. Either someone would find him, or not, but it was too dark to see anything. We would have to wait until the morning.

I got into bed with the house phone and my cell phone next to me, but my dad and Nyla waited downstairs, “For just a few more minutes,” my dad said. About 10 minutes after I laid down, my cell phone rang. It was Home Again, the microchip company. Someone had found Romeo! He was not far away. But he had eaten one of their small pets. They ended up telling their daughter, whose pet it was, that it had run away. I felt terrible and offered to buy another one, but they kindly declined. They are very, very, nice people. In fact, as my dad and I pulled into their driveway to retrieve Romeo, knowing what he had done, my dad said “Oh, no…. Not these people. They are so nice.” Yes, they are so nice. And Romeo is such a douche bag.

John’s phone had died, so when he got home at 11:30pm the first thing he said was, “Is Romeo home?”

Wednesday

4/9/2014

I got up at 6:00am and prepared for my first solo run since I’d been home. I brought my phone and listened to my Carrie Underwood station and ran to Starbucks to meet Carrie. I saw some DPW workers cleaning up the leaves on my way. One of them stopped and waved. I think it was Frankie, but he was covered head to toe—all I could see was a little bit of bald head between hood and sunglasses. I waved back and called out, “Bom Dia!” Seven miles.

I got there before Carrie and ran into one of our old FH clients who has checked out a few other facilities since she left us a little more than a year ago. She discovered recently she loves CrossFit and encouraged John and I to apply to work at one next to FH. She also insisted I let her know where John and I “ended up”. #fieldhouseyouremyhome

Carrie and I chatted for over an hour before she drove me to the Fieldhouse, but it’s never enough time. She dropped me off at FH where John was finishing up the 9:00am class. He had offered to teach that morning and Jay had obliged him. I got to see a few more adults we hadn’t seen yet but had to leave quickly to pick up my dad for work. We took him to the Post Office and the super market, and then dropped him off at work.

We stopped at Coffee Works and John asked if I wanted to sit and drink it there. Sit down? And drink? Oh, like at Pic Nic. We tried.

IMG_2467

We went home where I filed our taxes, showered, and headed back out. I had an interview in Newton at 3:15pm.

I had emailed back and forth with the owner of this personal training studio while I was away and she had asked me to come in when I got back. It is only a mile down the road from our old apartment, so I drove by and even stopped by my old Whole Foods before I found a parking spot in Newton Centre right across from the studio.

The owner was lovely, we had a nice conversation, and she asked me to begin shadowing the next day. I told her we didn’t have our car yet, and that Monday would work better for me. Great! She said, you can start then. #isthisajob?

I drove home only to pick John up and head back out again (see how different our life is?). I was babysitting for a friend right near where my dad works. John and I hung out with the kids for a while and then John took off to pick up my dad. The kids had hot dogs for dinner, so I taught them how to say “one more hot dog, please” in Portuguese, you know, so I could practice. Mais um cachorro, por favor. I also practiced my body parts on the youngest, Zaela (20 months), rabo rabo rabo, with pats on her behind.

Mom & Dad got home around 8:00pm and Kate and I went to pick up John at the FH (when he picked my dad up earlier, John asked him to drop him off there. He didn’t know where else to go). We scooped him up and Kate drove us both home. Thankfully, we were going to pick our car up the next day.

Thursday

4/10/2014

To say that integrating Romeo into Nyla’s home has been stress-free would be an outright lie. Today was my mother’s birthday and we began it by yelling at each other in the yard over the dogs. I took Romeo for a 5 mile run and my mom and I hugged it out when I got home. #homelife

I did a living room workout with the one set of adjustable dumbbells John and I own. I also posted a workout to ALKE Fitness’ Facebook page. I will try to keep doing this at least once a week for my ladies there.

IMG_2475

When I got back, after my mom and I made up, I showered and Krista came over. She and I had plans to get lunch. We took John to, of course, the FH and then headed off to Chipotle. I only had a few more American Food Cravings left to satisfy: Lee Chen’s and sushi.

We also wandered around Homegoods and Target, and then stopped by the new house she just bought (but isn’t living in yet) to empty her car out. She had offered to lend us her car to go pick our car up, but we also had to get our bags at the airport. #thankfulforgoodfriends

After we checked out her new house, we went to her work (which is also where my dad works). I took her car and grabbed John at FH, and we drove to the airport to attempt to pick up our bags for the second time.

This time we knew where to go, so that part was easy. This time a different, even more overweight, woman helped us. She told me my bags were still stuck in customs. Really? She also told me they don’t “just clear” if you “wait a few days” as the other woman had instructed me to do. The cargo warehouse also starts charging you STORAGE after a certain number of days. Luckily this woman was nice and way more helpful so she said she’d make a note not to charge us and told us how to clear our bags through customs.

Turns out I would’ve had to have gone to this office in the first place anyway. She gave me the forms I needed to take to the Customs office in South Boston and a set of directions to get there. I told her we would go the next day because I was not sitting in traffic. We were going to get our new car and go home before rush hour.

We took our forms and headed for the dealership, and on the way sat in traffic (of course). When we got to the dealership we waited half an hour for our sales woman to get our car off the roof (even though we told her we’d be there at three). When she brought it down it had a REJECTION STICKER and SCRATCHES on the back of the car. Now, the rejection sticker is because she had to jump start the car when we test drove it, so the computer reset. After we drive it 100 miles we can take it again, free of charge, and it will (should?) pass.

The SCRATCHES were on the car when we test drove it, but I had pointed them out and she had said, “Oh, we’ll fix that.” She had written it into our sales agreement. Only what I hadn’t realized was that she only wrote that the dealership would repair the “bumper” but failed to include the door. I told her exactly what I thought about that and gave myself a headache yelling at her. Not OK.

IMG_2476

I told John he could drive the new car and I would drive Krista’s Jetta home. Of course I followed him, so all I could see were those un-fixed scratches STARING at me, MOCKING me while we drove home. #thisisnotmyday

We stopped at Krista’s work to drop off her car, then Sudbury Farms to grab a fruit salad, a mini cake, and flowers for my mom’s birthday dinner. We went home where I made a giant veggie dish and my dad grilled steak and salmon. My mom came home and we feasted. My mom and I ate fruit salad and John and my dad split the mini Boston Cream Pie.

John and I took Romeo for a little joy ride in the new car. I had calmed down. A little.

Leave a Reply

