Snow!

Friday

4/11/2014

I got up and ran 5 miles with Romeo. It must have been the humidity in Portugal that kept him from being able to hack it—he ran 5 miles two days in a row with me, no problem.

I got home, showered, and tried to dress up. I had an observation in Arlington at an organization that I’d already had two phone interviews with. John was using my dad’s truck, so I got to take the new car. #beepbeep

I don’t need to go into detail to tell you that it wasn’t for me. I had a lovely chat with the day program manager and told her I didn’t want to waste her time, I really wasn’t interested in the position. Or any position. She encouraged me to apply for jobs higher up in the company. I liked her a lot, but couldn’t picture myself at this facility 44 hours a week for barely more than minimum wage. No matter how meaningful the work may be.

I couldn’t get off the campus fast enough, in addition to not wanting the job, I was going to pick my cousin up for lunch. She works maybe 15 minutes away in Brighton, we hit one of our old hangouts, and I dropped her back off at work. I had to go to the airport. Again.

This time I knew what I had to do, so I drove to Southie first and dropped by the Customs office with the paper work that the nice lady from the Swissport cargo office had given me.

The guy working at the Customs office clearly didn’t see a lot of action. He made as many old man jokes as he could in the 5 minutes I was there, relishing the fact that someone had stopped by.

After a few perfunctory questions, the wise guy stamped my forms and sent me on my way.

Going to the airport this time was a cinch, I knew exactly where to go and I had the right forms. It was the same nice lady from the day before. She didn’t charge me storage, but she did charge me the $50 import fee that everyone has to pay. I had to pay to “import” shit I bought in the US to begin with.

I got out of the city before traffic began and stopped home quickly to let Romeo out and change. I headed for the FH to work out. I saw all my high school girls, followed my Spartan workout of the day (1:00 of each squats, plank, jump rope, burpees, and hanging leg raises, @ 4 rounds) and did some extra core.

Steve, the new Director of Sports Performance asked me to teach the Youth class, but I declined. I wanted to go home.

I headed home, cleaned up, and headed for my friend Lee’s house. She lived abroad, too, so we got to compare notes on how weird it is to come home after a long time away. We sat and chatted until I couldn’t keep my eyes open. Luckily, she only lives a mile away.

John was just getting home when I pulled into the driveway and we both crashed.

Saturday

4/12/2014

I got up early enough to run 12 miles, shower, and get to my aunt’s house in Dedham by 11:30. I tried to get up earlier, but I just couldn’t. And I only ran 11.5 miles. I just couldn’t.

I showered, hit Cafe Fresh (not the same as Pic Nic!) and was in Dedham by 11:15. Not bad. My auntie Cheryl ran for selectman, and I promised to help on election day (I had conveniently missed many weekends of sign-holding in the sub-zero weather). It was a gorgeous day and I sat on their back porch calling every active female voter in Dedham, asking them to please vote for my aunt Cheryl. I got 99% voicemails, and a few children hung-up on me. All-in-all, it took me about 5 hours to call every woman, including a lunch break to Whole Foods.

Meg, her boyfriend, and our friend Sara had been out holding signs all afternoon. Meg and Tim came home to get ready for the post-election party. We were the first ones to head over to the Paradise Cafe, to make sure every was all set for the party. We waited around for what seemed like hours, the caterer came, a few friends came, Cheryl and Richard showed up, and the tallies came in. Dedham has 7 precincts, and the votes came in one at a time. There were eight people running for two selectman seats and everyone thought she was definitely going to get one. Well, probably.

The first few precincts came in, and she wasn’t doing well. Then her precinct came in (this one’s in the bag, right? Right?) and she didn’t do well there either. After all was said and done, she came in fifth. Bummer. We took a selfie with one of Dedham’s former finest, Bobby Winston, to try to cheer ourselves up.

IMG_2485 IMG_2486

I said my goodbyes after that and headed home. John had just gotten home from the Revs game and we both promptly fell asleep.

Sunday

4/13/2014

Since I went to bed early, I got up pretty early. I made some gluten-free zucchini bread (with Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free all purpose flour mix… which I don’t love and probably won’t buy again). John and I headed to FH, with a Starbucks pit stop on the way.

IMG_2489

This was only my second FH class since we got back, and Keith kicked my ass. I got to see him and Elizabeth, Jeremi, & Tracey. It was great. John watched some EPL games on the TV in the lobby.

We went home and John got ready to head to his soccer game while I took to cleaning and organizing. I had been a little stressed during the week, and aside from the dogs and having to share cars (and space) with my (extremely generous) parents, most of my stress was coming from living out of suitcases and boxes. And not knowing where anything was.

I needed more hangers, so after I cleaned myself up and ate, I headed over to Target. I also wanted a food processor, but they were out of the one I wanted so I went to Best Buy. But Best Buy only had really super expensive ones, so I went to (gasp) Walmart. Well, at least I knew I was back in American. Damn.

I found the one I wanted there and quickly left the store. One more stop at Trader Joe’s for groceries and then home. Oops, I forgot to get zucchini and tomatoes for sauce. I stopped once more at Shaw’s.

When I finally got home I was starving. John had just gotten home from his game, and my dad was home, too. My mom was in New York City visiting friends, so I made sauce for the boys. I offered to help my dad clean out the upstairs (the “dead relative room” it has been dubbed), but he declined and asked for help raking the lawn instead. So, after dinner John and I puts sneaks and jeans on and headed outside. I couldn’t remember the last time I raked a lawn, and decided it must have been at least 10 years prior.

After we spent a couple hours (maybe it was only one) cleaning up the front yard, we headed inside as it got dark. I made protein bars, peanut butter, almond butter, sunflower seed butter, and meal prepped chicken and quinoa for the week. I didn’t use my new food processor because it turns out my parents had one. It was incredibly loud and the “off” button doesn’t work so you just have to keep un-plugging it. I fell asleep tired, but feeling accomplished.

Monday

4/14/2014

I am going to start working at a personal training studio in Newton Centre. They specialize in super slow, high intensity training, which is something I’ve never done before. I went in on Monday to observe the owner train her clients. I got up at 5:00 to have plenty of time to get coffee and be there for 6:30am.

I stopped at Cafe Fresh with my reusable iced coffee cup in tow, already containing some coconut creamer (Cafe Fresh only has milk or cream). It wasn’t my friend Fanny working, but another Egyptian man who’s English consists of “Cream and sugar?”. I handed him my cup and asked for hazelnut iced coffee, and since they only take cash, I turned to the ATM machine inside the cafe. When I turned back the man handed iced coffee. Black iced coffee. “Cream and sugar?” he asked, in his accented English. “No no no.” I said, “I had creamer in there. Did you wash it out?” He responded by asking again, “Cream and sugar?” This time I tried gesturing “Did you” and then while pretending to pour my cup “pour it out?” He responded this time by trying to take my cup, I think he thought I wanted more room in my cup. “NO NO NO!” I grabbed my cup, you’ve done enough.

I don’t know what I was trying to prove; getting him to admit that he’d poured my coconut creamer out (which was obviously the case) wouldn’t have put that non-dairy creamer back in my coffee. I really hoped that this coffee incident was not an indication of how my day was going to go. Luckily, it was not.

I really like the owner of this studio, and I really like her clients. After a few hours of observing and note-taking, I headed home to eat lunch and pick John up. I was going to have coffee with a former client, and John was going to FH.

We went to Sudbury Coffee Works where my friend was already waiting for me. It was so nice to see her and catch up, and after we sat for a while she dropped me off at fieldhouse. I left my stuff but then took off for a 5 mile run. It was over 70 degrees out and also pretty windy. When I got back I grabbed my stuff and took the car; I was going to pick my friend’s kid up at school and bring him to baseball practice. I stopped by her house first and grabbed her two younger ones and we headed to pick up her high school son. We grabbed him and his friend, dropped them off at practice, and the I dropped the younger ones off at home before returning to pick up John. This is a normal day.

John and I went home, ate leftovers and crashed.

Tuesday

4/15/2013

I got up at 6:00 to run by 7:00am. I threw 10 miles down, but slow. I showered, we got coffees, and John dropped me at Kate’s. She wasn’t home from FH yet, so I set about to reading her four pages of (decorated!) notes titled “Liza Rocks!”, she had thoughtfully left me her wifi password. Kate was going to New York for a few days for a funeral, so I was friendsitting.

She and Zaela came home around 11am. Z and I played in yard, had lunch, and talked a friend through a breakdown. Zaela was so wiped out that she actually fell asleep in my lap while I chatted away on speaker phone. I put her down to finish her nap and I worked on my blog. I got to catch up with two of my friends from Povoacao, Leila and her sister Daniela, on Skype.

Screen Shot 2014-04-15 at 5.55.36 PM

Zaela woke up cranky so we snuggled and watched some TV.

IMG_2502

Her brothers came home, we played for a little while, had dinner, and I let them watch the Lorax. Kate’s husband was coming home from a business trip and his flight kept getting delayed. I put the kids to bed and napped on the couch until Marc finally came home just before midnight. I drove Kate’s car home.

Wednesday

4/16/2014

I had to run before going back to Kate’s house, and Amy said she could run at 5:00am. So, even though I had time to run later, I decided I would rather run with Amy. I got up at 4:30am and there was SNOW on the ground!

It had been 60 degrees when I got home after midnight, so even though Amy warned me it was going to be cold, and maybe flurries, I was still shocked. Luckily Amy wears a flashing vest and a headlamp, because I work all black. #iamaninja

IMG_2507

When I got home (5:55am) John was already at FH.

IMG_2509

We ran 5 through the slush and I headed home to shower, eat, and head to Kate’s. I picked Zaela up from the neighbor, we played for a little while, and then I took her to the library for Wee Reads. Kate said I could take her wherever I wanted to, and that included Target for more hangers, so I figured I would take her to do a fun kid activity before I made her do adult errands with me. It seemed only fair.

I saw my friend Andy Bower at the library (I always use his whole name when I refer to him—I don’t know why. I have another friend, Matt Ryan, that I do this to, too.) Wee Reads turns out to be a sing along that Zaela just loves. She is really good at animal sounds and that was the theme that day. The best one is her dog sound. She doesn’t “bark” or “ruff” but she pants.

I took her to Target afterwards with me to get more hangers and she was great. We went home to have lunch and nap. Liam came home from his friend’s house, we got in the car and ready to go so that when Sam got off the bus at 3:45pm he could get in the car, too, and we could make it to the FH by 4:00pm for flag football.

During the time between when Liam got home (3:30pm) and the time we got in the car (3:40pm), Liam lost his ninjago helmet (Ninja + lego = ninjago). The helmet belonged to a ninjago he had borrowed from the friend who dropped him off. We couldn’t find it, so I told him we would look more when we got home.

Zaela lost it when we got to the FH, screaming, running, and batting her eyelashes at Jay and John. Liam couldn’t even enjoy himself because he was stricken with guilt over the lost helmet. Sam made an interception at flag football, but we missed it.

We were going to sit at Sudbury Pizza for dinner, but it was too much. We picked up instead and took dinner home, where we ate in front of the TV. The ninjago helmet never surfaced, I tried to put Zaela down early to help Liam look for it, but the jig was up. She knew it was too early and screamed her little heart out until I picked her back up. Maybe ten minutes later we went for round two; with three books in the rocking chair first. She went down without a peep. Are you smarter than a twenty-month-old?

Marc came home at 6:00pm but left again at 6:45 for a T-ball meeting. The boys were still up when he got home again at 8:00pm. Sam had just finished his homework and Liam was drawing and coloring. John picked me up, drove me home, and I passed out.

Thursday

4/17/2014

I couldn’t shadow in Newton on Tuesday or Wednesday, so I was back again Thursday. Luckily, the schedule had changed and the day didn’t start until 7:00am. We also had a few breaks in clients, so the owner brought me through a workout. When we were done at 11:30am, I went for my run through Newton Centre and down Comm Ave, on the marathon route.

I stopped at Trader Joe’s on my way home to grab avocados and ground turkey to make burgers for lunch. I ran into a girl I went to high school with who happens to be living with her parents around the corner from my parents. We said we would be in touch. We said we’d make plans. We probably won’t.

I got home and made lunch for me and John and then drove John to Haskell field so he could observe his first Revs Academy practice. He is going to coach for them and was supposed to observe Tuesday and Wednesday, but because of the rain and the snow, both days the fields had been closed and practices cancelled. After I dropped him off I headed to TJ Maxx where I bought socks and a work shirt. I stopped at Shaw’s, too, and grabbed some veggies. I got halfway home before I realized I hadn’t grabbed bagels or boost for John. Damnit.

I cleaned and unpacked some more, folded and put laundry away, before I headed back out to Shaw’s and CVS. I picked John up at the fields and we headed to FH. John was coaching a mini-clinic for the varsity boys’ basketball team and I worked out. I had been staying away from legs, but since my runs were getting shorter I figured it was an OK time to throw some more legs into my routines.

When John was done we headed home. I was planning on grilling chicken and veggies but then the grill ran out of propane, so I made everything inside on skillets and saucepans and I set the smoke alarms off. Boa noite.

 

One thought on “Snow!

  1. Bahahaha coconut cream!!

Leave a Reply

